Advice for my undergraduate self

About a month ago, I received an invitation to speak in front of a group of undergrads.  I had spoken on panels before, but I had never been asked to give a talk, by myself.

The invitation asked me to talk about my MBA experience and the type of options my MBA allowed me to have after my graduation.  Doing that could take less than ten minutes.  I had up to an hour to fill.

Q&A could fill some of that time, but what could I tell them to ensure that they would have questions to ask?  And be comfortable enough to ask them?  I began to think about what would be the things they may not think to ask.  What were the things I would not have known to ask, when I was their age?

It occured to me that many of the students in my audience would be freshmen and sophomores, and it’s been a full ten years since I was in their shoes.  I crafted my talk around what would have been helpful for me to hear ten years ago, as a freshman in college.

Here is a recorded, condensed version of the presentation I gave at UC Berkeley on Monday, March 14th, 2011.

3 thoughts on “Advice for my undergraduate self

  1. Loved the talk. And I want to learn how to make cool life-maps like that one. I’m also thinking about what my dream job would look like, now…

    • Thanks for listening through it! I created the presentation on http://prezi.com, which can also be a great tool for capturing and rearranging a bunch of ideas on a blank canvas. Sometime this week I hope to post on how to use an online mind mapping tool to brainstorm possible directions to take.

Leave a Reply

